What happens if I delete an image?

If you use the delete icon (trash can) to delete a photo from the capture screen or the album screen, it will remove the image from the SD/CF card on your camera. You are deleting it permanently. If you just wish to remove images from the thumbnail viewer, go to settings, click or tap on clear cache and relaunch the application.